Day 29 ~ Songs or pieces of music that speak to you


Thenpandi Cheemayile : A song which I do not understand completely but it does strike a chord in me. A not so happy one, but it doss lighten me.

 

Ekla_Chalo_Re : A song written by Rabindranath Tagore. A masterpiece. I read the meaning of the lyrics on Wikipedia and it left me heavy and inspired both at the same time. The lyrics are extremely deep, philosophical and heavy.

Aye mere Pyare watan : A song that gives me goosebumps every single time without exception that I listen to it.. Every single time!

First it’s the story Kabuliwallah . A stunningly moving story by Rabindranath Tagore. I remember reading it as a child and every attempt I made at reading it, left me in tears some 3/4th into the story and I could almost never finish it. The song is the most patriotic in my view in what I’ve heard so far.

He sings about how it pains for him to be away from his motherland and his daughter and that if there was any place he would like to die it would be his motherland.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 29 ~ Songs or pieces of music that speak to you

  1. Loved the Amitabh Bachchan version of ‘Ekla cholo’ as well, although it didn’t resonate well with the generation before us – too many pronunciation deaths, and too much modernisation. But I’m glad that more people got to know of it, through Kahaani. Most significant truth of life, and the wisest teaching ever. Walk alone.

    Manna Dey’s rendition of the Kabuliwallah song is legend. Tear inducing. Every time.

Leave a Reply

