Day 25 ~ Something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad)


This is really tough!!! 

I was once sitting next to my uncle from my mother’s side, who I considered to be my Godfather. We regularly indulged in discussions about his experiences from life, some anecdotes, some of his affairs, movies and varied topics. Through all these discussions he always asked me questions on what I wanted to be, why etc. 

One such evening, we both were sitting and watching a match and as usual we’d had our discussions earlier in the day. He asked me if I’d make it to his funeral if he were to die in the US at his sons’ place. I said I will make it wherever it would be. He smiled and continued watching the match. After a while, he leaned forward and without context patted me on the back and said “You’re a good lad. Always be like this, never change yourself!”. 

That coming from him is probably the biggest compliment for me. I can still see him sitting on that chair and me sitting on the floor next to him. 

Cheers to you wherever you are! 

Drink up your heart’s content up there! Wish I’d shared a drink with you once! 

Sometimes it’s the smaller things in life that leave bigger regrets… 

2 thoughts on “Day 25 ~ Something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad)

Leave a Reply

