People are liars


I just discovered my scrapbook from college. The ones you had where your classmates filled in the answers to weird questions there. Like “What does love mean to you? ”

“What do you fear most?”

“Most embarrassing moment”

“Most memorable moment”

and lastly “Write something about me”

The last one is where it gets a little hazy.. People have quite consitently written “You’re a nice, smart, handsome guy! Who blah blah blah…” and I’m like WTF.. you kidding me????

Like if someone wrote that today I’d not go nuts over it. I’d be like “Ya.. okay.. I’m not THAT bad”. But school???? Seriously dude.. you’ve got to be kidding me.. I just think they’d nothing more to write about me.. I was one of the most unsmart, clumsy and slothy guys in the class. Like I see the pics even now and I go.. just how could I manage the level dumbness and lack of sense of self that I possessed. ! No wonder my mom was perpetually blowing her head off on me ! And my sister was busy teaching me tricks to look better and complaining about my stupid haircut! or the lack of it.. whatever!

And my friends.. They knew it.. Like I was a guy in my teens, they knew words like “smart”, “handsome”, “cool”, “funny”  would make me happy you know.. and obviously they were tired of filling those form like books for every single classmate they ever had !!! Duh!

So they must’ve had a template for guys, for girls, for crushes and obviously for their one single lou.. ! Or the many past ones..

Bleddy!!! All liars… all of them… ! Every single one of them !!! The world is a Lie and Douglas Adams was right when he said “This is an interesting world I find myself in—an interesting hole I find myself in—fits me rather neatly, doesn’t it? In fact it fits me staggeringly well, must have been made to have me in it!”

Oh wait… This is a good one.. but not the right one..  I was looking for this …

“We don’t have to save the world. The world is big enough to look after itself. What we have to be concerned about is whether or not the world we live in will be capable of sustaining us in it.”

All I can do now a decade later is drink it up… and shoot it down the pot.. and Flush it so the pot is clean!!!

So Drink me up hearties..

By the By..

Leave a Reply

