Day 4 ~ Three favourite quotes (from a person, from a book, etc) and why you love it


Are you kidding me??? Just 3???

I’m a quotes man.. I could write a diary full of them..

I’m posting this one now because I might not be able to post one tomorrow.

1 ~ ~

Half a league, half a league,
  Half a league onward,
All in the valley of Death,
  Rode the six hundred.
‘Forward, the Light Brigade!
Charge for the guns’ he said:
Into the valley of Death
  Rode the six hundred. – Alfred, Lord Tennyson 

This one still gives me Goosbumps, and leaves my eyes a little heavy. My love for the Army and the unfulfilled wish of wanting to serve in it probably comes back to life reading this. To sacrifice one’s life to the cause of something so massive as your nation and so close as your motherland, and yet at times so meaningless as land or even petty as a politician’s greed is very profound.

2 ~~

If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And—which is more—you’ll be a Man, my son! – Rudyard Kipling

This one comes from the poem IF. A something I read way back in standard 6 in my English course book and later was read and re-read to me by my mother on occasions where we sat and discussed not studies but life. It motivates you to push yourself to the extreme. It puts the threshold for what can be achieved to a place which is almost unimaginable and yet feels achievable.

3 ~~ But it’s not worth much if you can’t face yourself in the mirror. Respect is the ultimate currency. I was stealing from a man who traded his away for a few dollars. And then he tried to wash away his guilt. Drown it in a lifetime of good deeds and a sea of respectability. It almost worked, too. But inevitably, the further you run from your sins, the more exhausted you are when they catch up to you. And they do. Certain. It will not fail. – Inside Man

This comes from a very unexpected corner of the world. I watched this movie on the TV someday I was home,can’t remember when, but This dialogue comes 2 minutes before the movie ends. The Respect is the ultimate currency and the one about the sins sums it all up. It’s profound, it’s harsh and it’s true.

I’ll take the liberty of slipping in one more.

4 ~~ Truth is god. – Water

You watch this movie and the moment at which this comes is pretty profound. The struggle the little girl goes through and Mahatma Gandhi almost comes in like a wave of hope and yet slips out but leaves this one line. For some reason it filled me up while watching the movie. A lot of other moments fill me up but this one is very universal in what it says and with the story line it sort of leaves you a little thoughtful and makes your worries feel small. Paints the bigger picture in a spiritual sense.

2 thoughts on “Day 4 ~ Three favourite quotes (from a person, from a book, etc) and why you love it

Leave a Reply

