Kenny Rogers


Promise me, son, not to do the things I’ve done.
Walk away from trouble if you can.
Now it won’t mean you’re weak if you turn the other cheek.
I hope you’re old enough to understand:
Son, you don’t have to fight to be a man.” – Coward of the Countyย – By Kenny Rogers

Sang along my dad with Kenny Rogers, smiling at me one fine rainy evening, ย just the two of us at home. Mom had gone with my sister to Bangalore to settle her down in her college hostel. We were about to sit for dinner and he put Kenny Rogers CD on the stereo and queued up this song.

Probably the most beautiful song I’ve heard about a son and a father. And to hear that for the very first time sitting with your father, it doesn’t get better than that. He sang this paragraph every time Kenny Rogers sung it. And to me it somehow felt he was advising me the same. But I didn’t pursue that thought further. I just wanted to relish the moment of a being a son who was sitting with his father listening to good ol country music, least bothered about the rest of the world.

And like the other bands / artists my dad introduced me to I hooked onto Kenny Rogers and soon we had him singing the background score for the early morning rat race in our house.

That wonderful voice, those lyrics, the guitar, the quiet drums, the good ol country music feel. You want to just sit in a dimly lit living room on a bean bag and have the stereo play these songs while reading a book or just starting into photographs on the wall or just at the ceiling and thinking nothing. Just listening to the music. Sometimes all you need is to breathe and sit there do nothing but listen to good music. Not even write about it.

Kenny Rogers shall play on my Mac, Sansa ZipClip, Windows, Samsung stereo or wherever always and forever. You ain’t getting dropped off the playlist eva!!!

By the By

Drink me up hearties!!! Savvy…

4 thoughts on “Kenny Rogers

  1. Oh, I love this! What a beautiful story and an even more wonderful lesson to be learnt.
    Definitely the perfect father – son song ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

