Fun with Friends @ Aaruush ’08


After reading the last blog all over… I realized I had missed out on the details of all the masti we had at Chennai… I decided I need to be more detailed and elaborate in the explanation of my experiences…
And so here I’m… we reached Chennai on the 7th morning… and we had to immediately change over to leave for the convocation where Mr.Abhinav Bindra the Olympic gold medal winner and Mr.G.Madhavan were to come and his highness the governor of Tamil Nadu Mr.Surjeet Singh Barnala was to grace and preside over the ceremony of our convocation..
Me and Iyer bathed and changed our clothes to look humane enough to attend the function… and mustered the strength to sprint it down to the auditorium, grab a ‘robe’ and run into the auditorium before they decided to close the doors.. As we entered the Audi I found out my dept pretty easily and we guys sat down only to find tat we had to all sit dept wise only…
And so Iyer and bale left to their respective departments and I got up to collect the file containing my degree, felicitation speech write-ups and all other stuffs… and that’s when the comments started flowing out from all my classmates.. All stunned and my hugely huge disproportionate figure with fat all over the body and curves at the wrong places… and the hairstyle tat I wore with the hair going all curly.. Anyway the convocation proceeded and luckily I had the opportunity to see Abhinav Bindra up close co the aisle he walked thru was right next to my chair…
The convocation was on the whole a very formal function restricted to very li’l hand-claps and some murmurs with the awards and felicitations given away pretty fast…
It all got over and that’s when the whole commotion began with all the students excited to meet all the others… and the rest wanting to get to their parents and hugs, blessings and kisses all over the auditorium… I must admit I missed my parents for tat very tiny point in time… I just wished there was sme1 I cud bow down at touch the feet of… I finally pulled myself out of the hall and then met Iyer and we went down to meet aunty and touched her feet taking her blessings first…
Was a very nice moment indeed…
Then I ran off to meet as many people I cud… not able to find any1 though… I finally managed to find a few… Kanhaiya, Shioji, Bikash, Dilip, Pappu, Divya, and the whole Kishore, Ganesh group and a few more before we guys receded to the medical canteen to have some food..
That day we guys just stayed backing the hostel and did nothing much…
The next day aunty was about to leave, I was busy trying to schedule my day…
We slept late in the night chatting away to glory at Umang’s room…
At this point I must tell that I’m proud to have Umang as one of my very trustworthy bud… a guy who’s completely frank and bindass in attitude… to have accepted us staying in his room for a week is really good on his part… And same with his roommates, DJ and Mrityunjay bhai… thank you guys for all the hospitality…
Coming back to our schedule… I made a trip to Aruna’s tat evening and had plans of directly meeting Iyer at the station and seeing off aunty… and that’s when Iyer messaged saying tat aunt wasn’t leaving tat evening and tat she’d extended her stay… so then after meeting Aruna I packed of and back to the hostel..
At Aruna’s I finally happened to meet uncle this time after almost a year… coz every time I used to go there he’d be busy attending meetings or corporate parties. So it was difficult meeting him… and I also finally met Swetha a frond of Aruna’s of whom she talks quite highly…
That night was again a long chat and laughter filled time at Umang’s… we guys went to the Aaruush room and just chatted for sometime before the t-shirts came and we helped them unload it and the left for the room, took bath and slept of…
The next day was the first day of Aaruush and we guys attended the inaugural which was a pleasant experience especially coz we hadn’t attended the last rye’s function…
Later tat day I offered Ankita a choice to bank on the opportunity to get a treat from me… and she rightfully did so… we guys went to a restaurant in Alwarpet the name of which I forget at the moment to my distress… anyway… it was a nice lunch time with the two us sitting like some company executives and slowly talking to each other bout various stuffs bout each other and the place and world in general.. All in all it was a cool time with her…
We then went back to Tambaram after which I had to leave her company to follow up with the group which was planning a movie tat night… we were going for Rock On!! Night show…
And so we guys made it to the city centre… INOX… and there we had a few photos taken which were cheekily crafted by none other tan crazy me… the movie was a treat as is always with Farhan Akhtar’s movies.. a complete ‘paisa vasool’
We then came back to the hostel by auto costing us a whooping 350 bucks… emptying our wallets completely… Amit Bhai had all his statements and typical analyses of situations in his own animated way which had all of us rolling and roaring in laughter all thru the time… Till we reached the hostel where it followed with the “jahan dabna chahiye wahin dabta hai’ statement and more…
We finally signed out at bout 3…
The next day was events… we were supposed to see them and all we saw was the paper presentation and the hovercraft thingy… after which our plan resumed and we went for another movie. This time in Sathyam cinemas… for ‘A Wednesday’ another really good movie but less hyped coz of the truth tat it contains… but that’s India… And then again that night we went back for a long chat in the hostel. It was again a great night. We slept tight thru the night and way into the morning and prakash and Iyer managed to sleep thru into the forenoon. We got up and moved to the college. and saw a couple of events before we decided not to go for a movie that day coz we realised we’d thrown away literally some 500-700 bucks per head in the 2 dyas trying to enjoy our post-college lives. That day we had the valedictory function and Robin singh was invited for the same. I dunno why HE was invited for the valedictory function of a technical event but whatever be it.. we got a chance to see an icon of the nation and that was a good experience..

That evening we were invited for a party by the organisers. They’d planned to have dinner at the SRM Hotel (a hotel run by the college chairman) and so we all gathered in the lobby by 8 and had a get together and made fun of all the guys there..

we finally went for dinner and i must say the waiters and waitresses were completely stressed with our presence and the way we were ordering for dishes one after the other never ever stopping..

we all finally finished the party at about 11 and then made our way back to the hostels … it was probably the best treatment i have ever recieved in my whole life i must say. And i thanked them for all that they’d done. And congratulated them on the stupendous achievement of having organised the ehole event on such a large scale.

The next day i was supposed to get back home but not before meeting Anuradha Ma’am. Anuradha Ma’am invited us for a pooja she was conducting at her place. She invited us at about 11 and we made it by 12 (Indians and their sense of timing never cease to amaze me!!!). We had a solid south indian lunch made by the professional cooks. After lunch people started leaving the place slowly while we waited and then when everyone had left, we all sat down and started chatting and i must say we had the best time together.
I ended up mimicing Amit bhai, showing ma’am how he made the statement “bhai hum log na sirf objerever hain, samjhe.. door se khaali objerve karna hai humlogo ko” god.. and we laughed so much.. believe me i couldn’t control my own laughter at the whole subject.
And then Pooja ignited the fire by saying how i used to mimic ma’am during Milan. And boy i must say i was a tuch embarrassed. Ma’am as was expected asked me to mimic her.
I was gave in and ended up speaking just like her looking from the top of my spects and asking the question she’d generally ask me ” What Akshay… you can’t do even this much?? wat leadership or managerial qualities do you speak of?? itna bhi nahi hota kya tumse… do this do that and you have the result.. chhoti chhoti baaton ko lekar mere paas aa jate ho”
And boy we laughed on tat a lot… it was indeed a very nice moment… it kinda broke the thin line of ice that existed between us and ma’am.. we felt more free now…
And that night itself we all bid goodbye to each otehr and left for home.. those were few of the most wonderful days of my life so far… how we guys got together and connected so well and freaked out to the limits…
I wish the friendship and fun continues for years to come…
Cheers Friends!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

